On Wednesday April 9th I was lucky enough to receive a confidential tip-off that the Norfolk Southern Central of Georgia Heritage Unit was about to head east on the old Nickel Plate Road out of Bellevue, OH to Conneaut, OH. I immediately drove to Vermilion, OH and situated myself next to the tracks along the coast of Lake Erie. I ended up waiting an hour but it was an hour well spent!

Besides being the first time seeing #8101 the Central of Georgia I also got to see my first DC to AC conversion unit locomotive #4005, and a far from home Pan Am (Maine Central) SD40-2. NS #8101 is one of the 20 Norfolk Southern Heritage Units commemorating the 20 Class 1 railroads now part of the NS system. The COG paint scheme uses the same pattern and colors as the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad’s “Royal Blue” paint scheme with the exception of orange striping instead of gold. NS #4005 was rebuilt from C40-9 #8867 into a new AC44C6M at the Juniata locomotive shop in Altoona, PA It is one of 4 painted in a special black mane and grey paint scheme and one of two with a blue stripe.

