On January 23rd Lionel released all of their new 2016 catalogs filled with a whole freight yard’s worth of exciting new trains. At first I thought there would not be anything of interest to me but that quickly changed! Here is my list of what I am thinking about and let’s be honest I will probably order all of these items from the new Signature Edition catalog.

Reading 2100
Reading 2100

First up we have the Reading T1 4-8-4 Northern #2100. Lionel worked with the American Steam Railroad Preservation Association, which is currently bringing the real Reading #2100 back to life at the Midwest Railway Preservation Society B&O Roundhouse in Cleveland, OH, to create this new model. All new tooling will be employed making this a rather special model to own. It will of course be equipped with Lionel Legacy, RailSounds and Whistle Steam. MTH made this in the Premier Line recently but I missed out on pre-ordering one at the time.

Find out more about Reading 2100 here – https://www.fireup2100.org/

U.S. Steel Slag Cars
U.S. Steel Slag Cars
U.S. Steel Hot Metal Cars
U.S. Steel Hot Metal Cars

 

The next two items go together and they are the U.S. Steel slag and hot metal car sets. Currently I own a set of 3 US Steel slag cars which were released over 10 years ago. If you saw me at the International Tree & Model Train Display at Lorain over the holidays you probably remember seeing them in action. Suffice it to say I cannot wait to add these new ones to my collection of U.S. Steel rolling stock! Why the obsession with U.S. Steel? It’s simple, both my grandfather and uncle worked a the Lorain Pipe Mill for years so it is part of family history. As a side note I hope Lionel releases a U.S. Steel version of their new Scale Sized Gantry Cranes in the near future because I want to buy one!

Akron, Canton & Youngstown H16-44
Akron, Canton & Youngstown H16-44

Last but not least is an engine that I am still on the fence about, the Akron, Canton & Youngstown H16-44. Offered in two road numbers I will more than likely just get one road number. The AC&Y was unique little railroad which is today part of the new Wheeling & Lake Erie Railroad. The AC&Y locomotive fleet was almost entirely made up of Fairbanks-Morse locomotives, with the exception of a couple of Alco switchers, so this a rare model in the O-Gauge world.

What do you think?

If you have not seen the new Lionel 2016 catalogs yet check them out here – http://www.lionel.com/catalogs

 

