Construction of my first O-Gauge layout, the Lake Laurel & Hardyville Railroad, began in the summer of 2006. The benchwork was built by my late Uncle John who made the table’s as sturdy and as portable as possible. Over the years two extensions were made to the layout making its final size roughly 8×16 feet.

I originally used Lionel Fastrack but I soon switched to Atlas O Nickel Silver Rails. Minimum curve was O-36 as at that time I was running smaller locomotives from the MTH RailKing Line. I now have more and more  locomotives which need O-54 or greater curves so it is time to rebuild.

The layout was controlled by MTH’s Digital Command System, Lionel TrainMaster Command Control and later Lionel Legacy Control was added. It was powered by one Lionel 180 Watt Powerhouse. Accessories were powered by a variety of small transformers.

Scenery consisted of conventional one inch thick styrofoam base with products from Woodland Scenics, Scenic Express and others.

Buildings and accessories were from MTH, Lionel, Atlas, Weaver and K-Line.

Please enjoy this gallery of photos of the LL&HRR before its destruction.

